Meet the NZALS' Board members. Coming from a wide range of backgrounds, the Board includes medical professionals, business practitioners, community workers and, of course, amputees.

George Reedy

George Reedy


George, from Ngati Porou, has a background in business, Non-Government Organisations and the public sector. A Chartered Accountant (with an MBA) by profession, his main roles concentrated on strategy and business development especially in on-line digital environments.

He has recently been focusing on owning and operating businesses in the Telco and IT sectors from start-ups to large enterprises. He is also a coach and mentor for SMEs and NGOs. He has a keen interest in supporting Maori economic development initiatives.  George was appointed Chair of the NZALS Board early February 2013.

Paula Tesoreiro

Paula Tesoriero MNZM

Deputy Chair

Paula, an experienced public sector manager, studied Law, Politics and Public Management at Victoria University of Wellington. She has been employed by the Ministry of Justice since 2002, currently as the General Manager of the Higher Courts Group, but also having held a number of positions there. She has previously worked as a lawyer and as an advisor to a former Minister of Social Services. Paula is also a trustee of the Halberg Trust.

Paula is an amputee and has represented New Zealand at the highest level of Paralympic cycling. She won gold and two bronze medals at the Beijing Paralympic Games and was a double world champion and a double world record holder. She is a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit (for services to cycling) and was Wellington Sportswoman of the Year in 2009 and 2010.

Faye Sumner

Faye Sumner

Board Member

During Faye Sumner’s first role in the medical technology industry in New Zealand, she was elected to the sector’s industry Association Board and became the Chair before accepting the Chief Executive Officer’s role with the Medical Technology Association of New Zealand (MTANZ) in 2000, a role she continues to hold today. In this role, Faye has been at the forefront of negotiations with the New Zealand Government and Ministry of Health in the proposed development and reforms within New Zealand medical device regulations and procurement.

Faye has recently been appointed to the Ministry of Business, Innovation & Employment Procurement Policy Business Reference Group and is a member of the Asia Pacific Economic Co-operation (APEC) Expert Working Group developed the Kuala Lumpur Principles for Voluntary Codes of Business Ethics in the Medical Device Sector. Faye is a Trustee of the University of Auckland’s School of Medicine Foundation and a National Heart Foundation Board member.


Professor Alan Thurston

Board Member

After graduating in 1972, Professor Alan Thurston trained in orthopaedic surgery in New Zealand and in hand surgery in the UK and Canada.  He is primarily employed at the Wellington School of Medicine & Health Sciences and Wellington Hospital as Associate Professor of Orthopædic Surgery and Consultant Hand Surgeon.  Prof. Thurston has been a limb-fitting surgeon at the Wellington Artificial Limb Centre for over 30 years.

Prof. Thurston was awarded a Research Fellowship in Oxford where he graduated with an MSc in bioengineering. He won the Broadfoot Memorial Essay Prize in 1985, the A.B.C. Traveling Fellowship in 1986 and the Douglas Iverach Postgraduate Fellowship in Medicine in 1991. He was awarded the Kenneth Russell Memorial Medal by the RACS, 2002 and was Honorary Surgeon to four Governors General of New Zealand over 15 years.  Promoted to Associate Professor 1996, Prof. Thurston served in the RNZAMC, New Zealand Army for over 35 years, reaching the rank of Colonel.

His principle clinical interests are in hand and elbow surgery and his other interests include amputations and limb fitting. His research interests include clinical aspects of hand and wrist surgery, biomaterials and the biomechanical aspects of amputee stumps and prosthetics.